First Page


Last Page



Thaxter's original circumscription of Aporomyces (Laboulbeniales) is emended in this study of the eight known species of the genus, three of them new: A. byrrhini, A. lutrochi, and A. physemi. The new species, as well as A. subulatus, A. szaboi, A. trinitatis, and A. uniflagellatus (type), are dioecious and occur on beetles belonging to the Limnichidae (Coleoptera: Dryopoidea). The eighth species, A. perpusillus, appears to be monoecious and occurs on Staphylinidae (Coleoptera: Staphylinoidea). All taxa are described and illustrated with line drawings and/or photographs. Aspects of thalloid structure and development are summarized. Aporomyces is removed from tribe Euphoriomyceteae (as subtribe Aporomycetinae) and elevated to the rank of tribe, Aporomyceteae.

Rights Information

© 1989 Richard K. Benjamin

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

Included in

Botany Commons