First Page


Last Page



Four previously established genera of Thamnidiaceae and their recognized species are described and illustrated. Seven species are treated as follows: Chaetocladium jonesii, C. brefeldii, Cokeromyces recurvatus, Mycotypha africana, M. microspora, M. poitrasii (a new combination based on Cokeromyces poitrasii), and Phascolomyces articuloms. Phascolomyces articuloms, the type species of Phascolomyces, was described in 1959 without the preservation of a nomenclatural type as required by the International Code of Botanical Nomenclature, and original material is unknown. A neotype specimen is designated (preserved in RSA) for validation of the genus and species.

Rights Information

© 1976 Gerald L. Benny, R. K. Benjamin

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

Included in

Botany Commons