About This Journal

The Community of Ordinary Differential Equations Educators (CODEE) seeks to improve the teaching and learning of ordinary differential equations (ODEs). We believe that active learning projects involving modeling and computer experiments can increase student engagement and learning and that the subject of ODEs lends itself naturally to these modes of instruction. This goal of the CODEE Journal is to advance the teaching and learning of ODEs through the dissemination of materials that will be useful to both educators and education researchers.

Articles in CODEE Journal are organized into volumes, which roughly aggregate content by year. The content on this web site start at Volume 7 (for content published in 2009 or 2010). Volumes 1-6 correspond to content that was previously published in the CODEE newsletter.

History of CODEE

From 1992–1997, CODEE ("Consortium of ODE Experiments" was our former name), with generous support from the National Science Foundation, published a newsletter that provided a regular source of ideas, inspiration, and experiments for instructors of ODEs. The goal of CODEE was to share the rapidly growing wealth of computational instruction techniques with as many teachers and students of differential equations as possible. Because computers are vital tools in helping students understand and visualize concepts in differential equations, CODEE also produced a software solver package called ODE Architect.

In addition to the staff and students who contributed to the project, the following individuals were involved in this project during its first phase.

  • Robert Borrelli (Harvey Mudd College)
  • William Boyce (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)
  • Michael Branton (Stetson University)
  • Doug Campbell (West Valley College)
  • Courtney Coleman (Harvey Mudd College)
  • Wade Ellis (West Valley College)
  • Margie Hale (Stetson University)
  • John Hubbard (Cornell University)
  • Michael Kallaher (Washington State University)
  • Michael Moody (Olin College)
  • Anne Noonburg (University of Hartford)
  • Arnold Ostebee (St. Olaf College)
  • Matthew Ritchie (St. Olaf College)
  • William Siegmann (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute)
  • Beverly West (Cornell University)

In August 2007, the NSF funded Phase II of this project for four years through DUE-717490. The grant involved the creation of a digital library of learning materials, the completion of a robust, flexible platform-independent numerical solver designed to aid the teaching and learning of ODEs (ODEToolkit), and training for faculty in the effective use of modeling projects and computer experiments through mini-courses at math meetings. During this phase of the project, the CODEE acronym changed to "Community of Ordinary Differential Equations Educators" to reflect its evolution. The following people were involved in this phase of the project.

  • Joanna Bieri (University of Redlands)
  • Jack Bookman (Duke University)
  • Robert Borrelli (Harvey Mudd College, co-PI)
  • Todd CadwalladerOlsker (California State University, Fullerton)
  • Anne Catlla (Wofford College)
  • Courtney Coleman (Harvey Mudd College)
  • Kevin Cooper (Washington State University)
  • Daniel Flath (Macalester College)
  • Michael Huber (Muhlenberg College)
  • Richard Jardine (Keene State College)
  • Michael Kallaher (Washington State University)
  • Karen Keene (North Carolina State University)
  • Tom LoFaro (Gustavus Adolphus College)
  • Stephen Lucas (James Madinson University)
  • Michael Martin (Johnson County Community College)
  • Michael Moody (Olin College)
  • Lang Moore (Duke University)
  • Douglas Quinney (Keele University)
  • Ami Radunskaya (Pomona College)
  • Chris Rasmussen (San Diego State University)
  • K. Ann Renninger (Swarthmore College)
  • Darryl Yong (Harvey Mudd College, PI)

In 2016, after the well-attended ODE sessions at the Joint Mathematics Meetings, the CODEE Editorial Board was reorganized as follows:

  • Rachel Bayless (Agnes Scott College)
  • Ron Buckmire (Occidental College)
  • Catherine Cavagnaro (Sewanee University)
  • Courtney Coleman (Harvey Mudd College)
  • Chris Goodrich (Creighton Preparatory School)
  • Samer Habre (Lebanese American University)
  • Tom Judson (Stephen F. Austin State University)
  • Karen Keene (North Carolina State University)
  • Nishu Lal (Occidental College)
  • Erich McAllister (Fort Lewis College)
  • Ami Radunskaya (Pomona College)
  • Chris Rasmussen (San Diego State University)
  • Karl Schmitt (Valparaiso University)
  • Chris Towse (Scripps College)
  • Beverly West (Cornell University)
  • Darryl Yong (Harvey Mudd College)
  • Acknowledgments

    Over the years, this effort was generously supported by the Division of Undergraduate Education of the National Science Foundation through DUE-0717490, DUE-9154300, DUE-9353946 and DUE-9450742. This project has also been supported by the Harvey Mudd College Department of Mathematics, the Pomona College Department of Mathematics, and the Claremont Colleges Library.

    The participants on this project also acknowledge Bob Edmonston, Jezmynne Dene, Pat Vince, Allegra Swift, Sam Kome, Claire Connelly and Suzanne Frantz for their assistance and advice on this project.